Wk 11 – Artist Interview – Wesley Hicks

IMG_5156

This week at the art galleries on campus I really enjoyed the art done by Wesley Hicks. All of his ceramic works of art that was on display looked cool to me, so I decided to choose him to put in my post this week. I was unable to find Wesley there was only a girl outside of the gallery, but he did leave a message on the wall explaining some of his thoughts and ideas on his work. In the message, he wrote that “The act of presenting an object infers that there is an underlying knowledge about it within the act of presenting it. In contemplating this idea, I create art of an unknown origin with only the way I present and arrange them as the context of what they are.” I thought that this was very interesting and clever. It was fun looking at his art while thinking about what his motives were.

Leave a Reply

